Offerings to the Neter

I offer Anubis a range of different offerings depending upon what is available at the time.

Traditional offerings to the Neter include:

Wine                                                     Irep

Beer                                                      Henket

Incense                                               Seneter

Oil                                                          Merhet

Linen                                                    Menket

Raiment/clothing                           Hebsu

Natron                                                 Hesmen

Bread                                                    Ta

Herbs                                                    Wadju

Flowers                                                Hotepi

Vegetables                                          Semu

Meat                                                      Neshem

Milk                                                        Hesa

Grain                                                      Biuk

Fowl                                                       Aped

Water                                                     Mu

To Anubis, I offer- red wine, and other alcohol like cream licqueur, myrrh incense, Anubis incense, frankincense, kyphi. I also offer oils including myrrh and frankincense. I offer flowers including roses, lilies and dandelion, as well as certain other plants from the garden. I offer milk and coffee and tea, as well as milk and honey. I also offer purified water when I have nothing else on hand.

Other offerings include, poetry, prayer, and chocolate.

Image is Copyright © 2011 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

3 thoughts on “Offerings to the Neter

  1. Hello!

    I have really enjoyed reading your articles on Anubis.

    I have a question for you: What do you do with the offerings afterwards? For example, do you eat the food? I’m not sure if it feels right to throw food away, but also it seems maybe disrespectful to eat it… Tonight I am planning to offer wine and chicken, and will probably pour the wine in the garden, and give the chicken to a local cat when I go for a walk tomorrow. My thought being that at least that way it wouldn’t be wasted, but would still have been “sacrificed” by me. Or am I just overthinking it? lol.

    Also, what about offerings of clothing/linen etc? Would they then be kept or given away?

    I suppose the Ancient Egyptians would have left all these things in the tomb… but I can’t leave old food on my altar every time.

    Any thoughts would be most welcome 🙂

    Bright Blessings,

    Beth

  2. Hello Beth,

    I’m glad you have enjoyed my posts on Anubis.

    To the Ancient Egyptians it was perfectly acceptable to eat the offerings afterward. There is a point in the ritual known as “The reversion of the offerings” wherein the priest/priestess would distribute the food and offerings among the participants, and themselves share in the meal. This is done at different parts of the ritual, sometimes it is done in the middle of a lengthy ritual in order to sustain the energy of the priests, but often it was left til the end of the ritual where it could be distributed to everybody.

    Giving the food to animals is also perfectly acceptable. I often give my left over food offerings to my dogs. Any food that animals cannot eat, I dispose of otherwise. i.e bury it so that it is returned to the earth.

    Offerings of linen and other clothing items can be given to others, but is often kept for the gods to “dress” the statue, as part of the opening of the mouth in Kemetic traditions. Jewelry offered to the gods is worn as a sign of devotion to them.

    Any items like leftover scraps from the reversion, or my rituals to Hekate (Greek) are left out at a crossroads or gateway for the hoards of spirits to “eat” and partake of.

    Libating wine on the ground is also perfectly acceptable, akin to ancient rituals where blood was once poured onto statues ad the ground to “feed” the spirits. Red wine is of course what I use in cases like this as I’m both a vegetarian and vehemently against animal sacrifice.

    Whatever actually feels right to you will work as an acceptable offering, or “sacrifice”. In fact I’m sure the gods will be pleased that animals and earth are being fed and nourished by their gifts. Anubis has certainly never shown displeasure in my offerings going elsewhere.

    What makes something a sacrifice is more about what that means to you and the gods, for instance when I bake cupcakes or cookies, the first one usually goes to Hekate or Anubis, as an offering, this is often left for birds (Divine messengers and represent the soul) or the dogs (Hekate and Anpu both being Canine). When I leave offerings for Bastet I often give catnip and milk, and as she is personified by the cat (domestic and wild) the cats also partake.

    It is also about a shift in the thought process of what constitutes offerings and sacrifice. In the Charge of the Goddess, “She” does not accept sacrifice, but this in my opinion is not meaning that nothing sacrificed to the gods is appreciated, but rather that sacrifice comes from the heart rather than the head. It isn’t about just blindly giving things to the gods, but actually showing them you care by offering them something from the heart.

    “All acts of love and pleasure are my rituals” is something that applies to all the gods, all acts of love for them is an act that pleases them and can be considered a “worthy” offering, if that means giving it to animals, then that is just as valid, as you are showing your love for the gods through feeding of animals which are sacred to them.

    All things are sacred, even the making of a cup of tea and coffee, and when I have a cuppa in the morning I leave a small amount in the cup for the gods, which then either gets given back to the earth or the animals, as the gods have already partaken of the energy of that offering.

    ” The sacred encompassed the secular in their world view; the physical world- including natural phenomena, and the plant and animal kingdoms- was seen as a reflection of the divine world, and everything in it possessed a divine nature. The gods manifested through the visible-human beings, trees, stars, wind and storm, even though these living things possessed an identity of their own as well.” p2 The Sacred Magic of Ancient Egypt, Rosemary Clark.

    That is why giving to the earth and animals, still constitutes a sacrifice and offering to the gods.

    I hope that helps and that I didn’t ramble on too much!

    Blessings
    Nightshade

  3. Hi Nightshade,

    Thank you for the fast and comprehensive reply, and no, you certainly didn’t ramble! You have given me a lot to think about. It’s also good to know I won’t cause any offence by eating the food, or giving it to animals.

    Blessings,

    Beth

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

