Witches on the Big Screen

When I was a kid, two movies caught my fancy, “Hocus Pocus” and “The Craft“. These are still great favourites of mine! “The Craft”, competes in my headspace with “Practical Magic” which I like to watch when I’m entering recipes into my Book of Shadows and decorating it as well as making any witchy concoctions (I wonder if I’m the only one who does that?)

Witches are powerful symbols in the media for female autonomy and power, and are often seen as Femme Fatales and weavers of fate and destiny. Occasionally witchcraft is a metaphor for the struggles of growing up, coming of age and young female sexuality.

Witches are noted for being different, weird, and on the outskirts of society but with the same needs and wants as the average person. We watch as they struggle with things like the dark side, the dangers of casting spells and how messy magic can get.

Witches are often turned to for help, but when things go wrong, the witch becomes the scapegoat for all the ills and problems experienced by people and society. In Film witches have choice between good and evil, and many movies and even T.V Series will focus on the struggles of choosing the “right” path.

 

*Posted as part of the 44 Days of Witchery- Day 31- A Favourite Witchy Movie

All blog content is Copyright © 2011 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

2 thoughts on “Witches on the Big Screen

  1. So true!! I love these movies too, watched The Craft recently again, and realized how close to some wicca truths the production of this movie has come!! As an “escapist” myself, also loved “Witches of Eastwick”, “The Mists of Avalon”, “Stardust” and “The Ninth Gate”.

    • I haven’t been able to get hold of “The Mists of Avalon”:( “Witches of Eastwick” is definitely also a great film! The Ninth Gate sounds interesting I think I might try to find it (nothing like a good 90’s horror/mystery with Depp:D.)

      Thank you for adding!

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

