Sewing Steampunk: I know what I’m doing, I just don’t know what I’m doing!

This installment on Sewing Steampunk will not be the last, but my mum and I have to hurry if we plan on getting everything done.

This will be more of a picspam than anything else. My bustier is still not complete as it took us forever to find the correct device to make proper holes with, and then we had to find cord rather than ribbon, as ribbon is not a good material to use as a corset/bustier fastener due to fraying.

So without further ado… “I know what I’m doing, I just don’t know what I’m doing!” :

Pinning the fabric to be cut for the bustier

The cut out fabric gets flipped and placed lined up with the lines on the fabric so that a double piece is cut out.

The double pieces cut.

The pieces are overlocked to prevent fraying.

The pieces are sewn together, they are matched up. This is done separately from the lining.

The lining/interface is then sewn together, matching the pieces together.

Getting ready to sew the seam lines so that the boning can be placed inside.

The seam lines are sewn.

The lining/interfacing is sewn to the outer fabric.

Everything is ironed out and the boning is placed inside the sewn seam lines.

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

 

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

