Apple Sauce Cookies

Here is the recipe from Ellen Dugans book Autumn Equinox p 167:

“1/4 cup butter, or margarine, softened

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1 egg

2/3 cup applesauce

2&1/2 cup baking mix (bisquick)

1/4 cup flour

2 teaspoons allspice

1 cup raisins (optional)

Heat oven to 375* F. Cream butter, sugar and egg;stir in remaining dry ingredients. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. These cookies puff up when they bake and are soft and chewy.”

Here is my revision of the recipe:

1/2 cup  salted butter

1 cup brown sugar

2/3 cup applesauce

250 g flour (2 cups)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 dab vanilla paste

I didn’t want my cookies to puff up, but if you want to, you can use her recipe:) I don’t have allspice and I love cinnamon and apple together, I add vanilla to almost everything, so that is no surprise there

I used Ina Parmans’ instructions which my mom translated for me thusly, with my alterations:

Preheat oven to 190* C.

Cream the butter in a big mixer bowl with electric mixer or wooden spoon until light and fluffy, mix sugar continually to mix while whisking or beating.

Whisk eggs with a fork in a cup. Add in vanilla paste/essence. Add this mix slowly to butter mix while whisking. Add the applesauce. and tsp of cinnamon.

Sift flour over creamed mix and fold in lightly. The mixture will be thick and textured.

Dollop on a greased baking tray or use baking paper to eliminate the need for more margarine or butter. (if I could find the cookie cutters I would use them, but alas they have hidden from me) This made 15.

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

They will be soft and chewy.

Here are my cookies:

applesauce cookies

They were so good I decided to share them with Hekate.

 

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

6 thoughts on “Apple Sauce Cookies

  1. Pingback: Autumn Equinox- Ellen Dugan: Book Review « thepurplebroom

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

