Prayer for Marmalade

I wrote this prayer for my cat Marmalade, who had to be put down last year due to cancer in her liver, I lit the room with candles and stood before my altar burning myrrh…

Yinepu, take your child Marmalade and guide Her to the lands of catnip and woolen things. 

It is never easy to say goodbye, but I know you will take care of Her, Great Guide and Guardian,

I burn Myrrh in your Temple

May She be happy and blessed and free from suffering,

May Her soul rest with Oliver and Snowball in the lands where cats can play

May my love touch her wherever She may be.

*

Marmalade, may Bastet hold you in Her barque

May you join the Starry One, Nut.

May the gates be thrown open for you

May Wepwawet open the way

May Anpu guide you

May you be given milk and meat

May you be loved in the Divine Company of the Gods

As your bones return to the Earth, may you nourish the children of Geb

May the lights shine for you in the Great Hall of Cats

May your spirit dance among the stars

May Isis, The Mourner of Osiris, caress you with her Divine Breath

So you may be reborn anew

*

You have touched my life

You have brought me joy, peace and love

Your soul accepted mine as friend, you are my child, you are the child of my soul

You are Anpu’s child

The child of Bastet

You are Free

You are loved

You are held and protected now by the Mighty Ones

Marmalade

 

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

6 thoughts on “Prayer for Marmalade

  1. I am extremely sorry for your loss. Your prayer touched my heart. I lost my closest familiar and friend five years ago. She had been with me for 15 years and I had to have her put down. It was the hardest thing I ever had to do. I understand your loss and grieve. It breaks my heart. We love them so much, they are part of our family. There is no words I can say that will ease the pain. Again, I am so sorry for your loss.
    May the Goddess bless you and keep you in Her comfort during this difficult ime.

  2. 😦 i hate it when loved ones… people and pets… have to leave. but then again in my job i often see that death sometimes is better than a life in pain and suffer. *huggles* good thing is… one day we all will meet again!

  3. You made me a little teary eyed on this one. I can feel your pain. My cat, Rhiannon, is like a daughter to me and she is down to 8 lives now. I came very close to losing her. May your baby rest in peace.

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

