Harvest Apple Upside-Down cake- Autumn Recipe

With the equinox just under a week away I thought I’d review one last recipe from Ellen Dugan’s Autumn Equinox.

p 165

“Topping:

3 tablespoons melted butter

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 medium apples, peeled and sliced

Cake:

3 1/3 cups baking mix (bisquick)

1/3 cup sugar

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup milk

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F). Melt butter and drizzle over the bottom of a 9- inch square pan. In a small bowl combine brown sugar, chopped nuts and cinnamon. Mix well. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the melted butter. Arrange apple slices on top of nuts and spices.

For the cake, combine the baking mix, sugar and cinnamon. Add milk, oil, and eggs mixing just until dry ingredients are moistened. pour the batter evenly over the apples. Bake 35-40 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Then loosen edges of the cake with a knife and carefully invert cake onto a large serving platter or plate. Serve warm with whipped topping.”

Okay I didn’t change much of the recipe at all. I used a round cake tray as the other baking dish I used for the lasagna is still in recovery. I used only one apple, I used pecan nuts because to find walnuts, is like finding gold at the end of a rainbow, a treasure, but practically impossible. I also used 1/3 cup apple sauce instead of vegetable oil and used 3/4 cup less flour (self-raising).  I also added as much cinnamon as I felt like, rather than measuring.

The cake, my first attempt at an upside down cake, came out alright. My only complaint is that I didn’t go with my instinct to add more sugar in the batter, as I like sweeter cake. I also didn’t add my usual vanilla as, alas, I finished it on the apple- sauce cookies.

I think the cake was still delicious albeit the cake part was not sweet enough for my sweet-toothed-ness.

I'm a such a messy cook, look at all the flour everywhere:)

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

One thought on “Harvest Apple Upside-Down cake- Autumn Recipe

  1. Pingback: Autumn Equinox- Ellen Dugan: Book Review « thepurplebroom

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

