Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna

This recipe was found in Autumn Equinox by Ellen Dugan. pg 161

“My friend Scott gave me this recipe. It’s so easy to prepare that even I can make this and it turns out great.

1 box lasagna noodles

2 packages frozen spinach, thawed and drained

1 container Ricotta Cheese

1 Egg

2 cups shredded mozzarella

1 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1 pat butter, cut into small pieces

1, 12 ounce jar spaghetti sauce

Non stick cooking spray

Cook lasagna noodles according to package directions. Drain and rinse. Set aside. Mix the Ricotta, spinach and egg together in a medium bowl and set aside.

Spray 13 by 9 inch baking pan with a non stick cooking spray and begin to build the lasagna with a layer of noodles. Top the noodles by spooning on the Ricotta cheese mixture in large dollops on top of noodles. Next add sauce and mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Alternate the layers of noodles, sauce and cheese. Top off the lasagna  with a final layer of mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Dot the top with butter.

Cover with foil and bake at 350* Degrees (F) for an hour until bubbly. Take the foil off for the last 10 minutes or so.”

I stuck more or less to her recipe, using the instructions on my lasagna box. I used Spinach lasagna to make it a bit healthier, and I used Gouda instead of Ricotta as we couldn’t find Ricotta anywhere.

During the cooking of the lasagna in the oven, the small baking dish we have (the only one we have) spilled over, and the coils at the bottom of the oven started smoking and burning. This in turn made me run screaming out of the cottage “Mommy, Mommy! The lasagna! Mommy, something’s happening! Burning! Fire! Mommy!” arms and legs flailing. In my panic I forgot to just switch off the oven (which I’ve done immediately when my mushroom veg pie fell on the coil, catching alight months ago).

I’m usually good at crisis management, but I made this on Friday and my dog was at the vet due to sever bite injuries from our other dogs and I was worried about him, not to mention a string of other “unlucky” things happened that week, so I was already frazzled.

Since “The Crisis” was averted with a baking tray directly underneath the baking pan, to catch the fall of any more cheese, the lasagna was finally cooked and the whole family enjoyed it thoroughly. There were many “Delicious! Yummy! Amazing! More! MmMmMms! so I’m putting this down as a success.

(I did not get a picture as my camera had gone flat soon after taking pictures of my altar setup for Hekate and I only got batteries again on Saturday but let it be known that it was very green:-) )

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

3 thoughts on “Vegetarian Spinach Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Autumn Equinox- Ellen Dugan: Book Review « thepurplebroom

  2. Pingback: How To Prepare Healthy Spinach Dinner Recipes | Healthy Diet Report

  3. Pingback: misty’s vegetarian lasagna « Foodie Joanie

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

