Prosperity Pumpkin Raisin Muffin Loaf- Samhain/ Autumn Recipe

This is a Recipe straight from Silver Ravenwolf’s book Halloween. P 108

This recipe is from Morgana of Morgana’s Chamber in New York City. The Recipe can be halved and the muffins freeze well, too.

2 Cups canned pumpkin puree` (abundance)

1 1/2 cups honey (riches)

4 eggs (or 8 egg whites if you want low fat)

1 cup evaporated skimmed milk (goddess symbolism)

1 cup water (element of water and the flow of prosperity)

1 tablespoon oil

1 tablespoon cinnamon (success)

1 teaspoon nutmeg (anti-hunger)

1 teaspoon ginger (money)

1/3 teaspoon ground cloves (money)

3 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (abundance)

1 tablespoon baking soda

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup black raisins (money)

Mix the first ten ingredients in a large bowl. In another bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Add to wet ingredients all at once, whisking until blended (do not overmix). Stir first counterclockwise (widdershins) to banish poverty, then clockwise to pull in abundance and prosperity. Stir in Raisins. Fill non-stick muffin pans to the top. Bake in 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before removing from pan. Batter can also be baked in two nonstick loaf pans for 60-65 minutes. Makes 12 dozen muffins.”

Okay I decided to make it into loaf, as baking so many muffins at one time in our small oven would prove hazardous, and I wanted to use all of the pumpkin before it would go off.

My revisions on the recipe:

All purpose flour- as whole wheat flour proved difficult to find.

3 tablespoons baking powder- as I couldn’t find baking soda.

1 teaspoon salt- as I just felt like adding it.

Low fat evaporated milk- all we could find

Cooked pumpkin mashed- as pumpkin in a can is impossible to find.

I must say this recipe was absolutely faultless, the smell of muffin, cinnamon and cloves wafted into my bedroom, making me instantly crave it. On a grey autumn day this recipe came in handy! It was really delicious, and I’ll definitely be making it again!

As Samhain is my favourite Sabbat, I really try to celebrate all aspects of it with fervour, before the winter months and the seasonal depression come with it. With  pumpkins, cinnamon, gingerbread, hot chocolate and coffee, spice chai tea and the crisp autumn air, this season is easily my favourite. The revelry under the blood moon, dancing with the spirits of the dead and the glinting of jack-o lanterns and pumpkin crafts all make for a fantastic feast day! My spirit rejoices this time of year, as all the ancestors who have loved us, feast with us with joy!

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

5 thoughts on “Prosperity Pumpkin Raisin Muffin Loaf- Samhain/ Autumn Recipe

  1. Pingback: Spiced Pumpkin Bread « MummyCoupons

  2. Hello!
    I realise you wrote this nearly four years ago, but I’ve only just found it. Thank you for your kind review, I’m so very happy you enjoyed the recipe! I’m glad you used your common sense with substitutions, as you found out it’s still delicious! (I’ve been on the organic, whole food bandwagon since the early 70s, which is why I use organic and whole grain ingredients where possible. They’re also very accessible to me in NY.) If you’d like to try another variation and healthy boost, add roasted pumpkin seeds in the mix (not too many, they may suck up too much moisture), and sprinkle a bunch (not completely encrusted, just enough to add some crunch) on top before baking. (Usually I just sprinkle on top as my family are picky about whole seeds and nuts- I grind up to accommodate them.) I’m sure you can come up with more variations- please let me know if you do! (I also love pics, and have made it in loaf form as well, much easier to freeze one if you aren’t using the entire amount straight away.)
    Blessings,
    Morgana

    • Thank you very much for the suggestion. A lot has changed in four years, and I have become better at finding healthier options in the market I.e organic and wholegrain foods, so I will definitely try the roasted pumpkin seeds. I must admit I have not baked much lately as I have gone from a small oven to a tiny one,which does not even bake a nice batch of cookies in one go. But I will probably start baking more again, as I miss it. Thanks for popping by 🙂

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

