Goth Challenge Day 22-25 Subcultural Context and Rantings!

Day 22: If you could attend any goth event what would it be?

Bats Day, Whitby Goth Weekend, and Wave Gothik Treffen

Day 23: Your Favourite Artist or Photographer

Victoria Frances, Brian Froud, Anne Stokes, Liza Corbett

Day 24: Name the Best Websites for Goths

Look at my side bar under Goth blogs here are some that aren’t linked there yet:

Bethezdas Preoccupations

Le Professeur Gothique

Darker Fashions

Gothic Tea Society

Gothic Divine Magazine

If I only were a goth

Kakuidori

The Dark Victorian

Goth Underground

Mooky chick

Hexotica

There are many, many more, but I can’t think of any more at the top of my head…

Day 25: Did you ever think of leaving the subculture?

Once, for about a second when some douche tried to knock me over with his car in broad daylight. But then I became even more determined to be myself, and live my life the way I wanted to. I was about 14. All of the Naysayers in my life, did nothing more than make me realise the prejudice still held by people.

I find it very disheartening that within the pagan community at large, goths are derided as attention-seekers, when all we are trying to do is express ourselves. Over and over again, I read blog entries, and posts about distancing the image of the Witch from the colour black, or large jewellery or strange dress in general. I read on an article somewhere a comment saying that we as pagans and witches may dress how we want at home and in our private lives, but once we become famous or start working in a public platform, we must dress and act normal. I find this absolutely ridiculous and shocking.Why when someone becomes publicly known should they hide themselves and who they are? Instead of letting people be, they get derided and mocked for being famous, with unpopular opinions, and told they are not doing a service for the Pagan community. I call crap on that! Although not all goth authors are great with information and such some really are!

I am not “mainstream”. I call myself a Witch. I will not distance myself from the colour black and the subculture that makes me happy. I’m a hippy too, all the peace, love and compassion for the earth is part of me being a pagan. I don’t see how me dressing in a particular way effects YOU and YOUR spirituality. And if it does, I feel really sorry for you, because you obviously aren’t paying attention to what spirituality actually is.

If you want to wear Jeans and T-shirts and be casual or whatever, I don’t care, not only does it not affect my spirituality on any level, it certainly doesn’t affect how spiritual YOU are.

I also don’t dress to scare people, and frankly most goths aren’t trying to scare people with their black bustle skirts and deathhawks. They are merely wearing the clothing that they enjoy and are dressing as a form of self-expression. Some people may find that scary, but that is not what many goths are trying to do.

Witches can wear black if they want, they can wear top hats and big bustle skirts and Victorian corsets and have deathhawks. Witches can wear what ever the hell they like, and they should be allowed to dress how they want without some shallow, pathetic statements, like “I cannot take you as a spiritually serious person” or “You’re dressing like that to scare people” or even better “You haven’t grown out of your adolescent phase”.

This type of reaction only informs my understanding of the pagan community, and the fact that even on the level of dress and musical preference, I am expected to conform in order to give a “good impression” of the pagan and witchcraft community. I will not leave my subculture behind. I doubt I’ll stop being goth and I doubt that I will leave the subculture. How do you stop loving The Cult, and The Sisters, and so-called strange things when you grew up with it, and grew into it. I know a lovely lady who now has two kids who still identifies as alternative, with her metal, piercings, tats and other things and she’s 30.

My dad listened to metal his whole life, since he was a teen, and at 51 when he died, he still listened to it, he still rode his motorbike, and was proud of his tattoos of “The Lizard King” and more. He still wore his band shirts and he was still alternative, even though he worked in a mainstream career. How can you change something that intrinsically makes you happy, just because some fool thinks you are going to give a bad impression of “Christians/Wiccans/Pagans”. I would go as far as to say that it is that prejudice that is flung around so readily by fellow pagans and Witches that gives the bad impression of the “community”.

I’m tired of the articles and some books that I read qualifying that the author is not “goth” but actually “normal, nice and not scary”. How insecure are you of your own faith that you have to qualify it with a statement like that? It shows prejudice. Pagans fit into all facets of society, including the non-mainstream. Deal with it!

Things like this make me want to run screaming from this so-called “pagan community”, not the goth subculture…

…On the other hand at Pagan Freedom Day 2012, I was quite surprised and joyous even at the amount of gothy and metal-head people I saw. I didn’t feel like I was being gawked at, and there was even a stall selling corsets and other gothy wear. It was quite a change from the first time I went and I’m really happy that goths are gaining some acceptance within South African Paganism!

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

