May Monster Madness Day 2: Monster Toys and the Uncanny

The uncanny is that which is frightening but which is familiar at the same time,

“[T]he ‘uncanny’ is that class of terrifying which leads back to something long known to us, once very familiar.” (Freud: Pp369)

Now this post isn’t going to be an in-depth exploration of the Uncanny and how it affects our perception of certain things like Vampire children, walking dolls, freakish dolls, clowns and “possessed” people. It is merely about my personal forays into the Uncanny world of monstrous toys.

Chucky creeped the heck out of me as a child, and then when I became an adult, I was even more shocked at my reaction to it. Then
Toy story came and Sid made a whole collection of monstrous toys, combining elements from different dolls and Toys and created something rather… Uncanny.

Because the uncanny is familiar, yet strange, it often creates cognitive dissonance within the experiencing subject due to the paradoxical nature of being attracted to, yet repulsed by an object at the same time. This cognitive dissonance often leads to an outright rejection of the object, as one would rather reject than rationalize. – Wikipedia

When we looked at the Uncanny last year in Art Criticism I was faced with this understanding that what in fact made these dolls and toys so damn creepy was indeed their strange familiarity, or familiar strangeness.

Many modern dictionaries often define the uncanny as something that is supernaturally eerie and unsettling because of this eerie nature. When looking at the word supernatural as something that is beyond the natural and combining it with the familiarity of the natural, the uncanny can be seen to be as something which is at the same time strange, unfamiliar and beyond natural and that which is familiar.

Toys are able to come to life and are designed with human characteristics, they resemble humans (and animals) and are inextricably linked with our childhood fears, anxieties, comforts and psyches. As a child I recall having a particular doll which I looked after as if it were a child. When encountering Chucky by accident on television I was completely frightened of my own doll. Would it too, come to life and haunt me? I would hide it under blankets and other less familiar toys. It was in the “supernatural” quality of the walking combined with its complete normalcy and familiarity in my life and its resemblance to a real baby that scared me.

There is something similar in cultural practices of clowning. There is something strange in that painted face that is always smiling that renders the clown a figure of uneasiness for me. They have always creeped me out, and still do, maybe encountering Pennywise in It didn’t help with that.

As a child I would often mangle my Barbie dolls and rip off their heads and replace them with heads of other dolls. I would also often just mangle my dolls in general. Pop! an arm off. Pop! a head back on. Pop! off the torso. Although this may seem rather Sid-like, it was strangely therapeutic for me to pop the body parts on and off, of these childhood icons. It was a de(con)struction and reconstruction of my own self-hood that I was playing out with each Pop!

Of course, now I create my own toys and stuffed creatures, including Voodoo Dolls, Bats, Spiders, Oogie Boogie man etc. The other day my boyfriend brought me a whole bunch of teddies he won in one of those claw machines, and some of them were doubles. One of them had a broken ear so I decided to repair it…. Not only did I repair the fallen bobble ear, but like the little boy Victor in Frankenweenie, I created this little zombie dog/creature/thing:

zombi

 

zombie

My boyfriend told me that I’d blinded it (by covering over its eye with the green felt) and started playing with it… “Brains! Brains… Grnom Nom”!, softly mashing it against my head. My mother was a bit unnerved that I had “disfigured it” but she’s come around!

A while ago, I encountered these pet toy things which are battery operated to “breathe” while they “sleep”. These things really made the creep factor crawl up my arms and neck, and made me think of Taxidermy practices gone horrifically wrong; or even like that creeptastic “mortician” in After.life.  It also reminded me of Postmortem photography:

Yes that girl in the middle is actually dead. Public domain image

On a slightly unrelated note I can’t wait for Frankwenweenie 2012!

All Blog content is copyright of Nightshade 2012 Author of Thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

Cited Texts:

Freud, S. (1950) The Uncanny in Sigmund Freud, Collected Papers, vol 4. Transl. Joan Riviere, London: Hogarth Press:

Wikipedia.org http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uncanny

Check out the other awesome Monster Blog hoppers

 

 

(Collection closed)
Link tool by inlinkz.com



2 thoughts on “May Monster Madness Day 2: Monster Toys and the Uncanny

  1. As a maker of creepy dolls myself, it’s fascinating to me that it only takes very minor changes to a conventional doll to make it look a little sinister. We obviously all have some innate wariness of anything that doesn’t conform to the standards of absolutely “normal”. Great post

    • That’s very true, there is something about slight imperfection, in something that is made to be perfect that unsettles us. Thank you for reading!

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

