Pagan Insights Project: In your own Words…The Craft of The Three Ways and other things

Find out more about the project over here!

By now you should all know I love participating in these types of things so I’ll be giving this a go, there will be no scheduled timing for me, on this, but I’ll do a few posts a month, or every few months, depending on how busy I am!

Maggie at Magikos Studios is also doing this, so check out her posts!

Here is my first contribution:

* In Your Own Words – your thoughts and feelings – maybe a full blog post on a topic of your choice related to your path (or Paganism in general) or just a few sentences on where you are right now. What are you studying? What are you thinking? Who are you, and where are you going on your Pagan path? What’s right and what’s wrong in Paganism at the moment?

Where am I right now?

I’m sure many of you that follow my blog, know that I’ve come up with a name for my system, as you’ve seen it in the side bar under My System of Witchery: The Craft of the Three Ways.

“The Craft of Three Ways” came to me while having a nice, long relaxing bath, in lavender myrrh scented waters. It took me a few days to decide whether or not I liked the name and what it suggests, and whether or not I thought it would reflect my System and the direction in which my System is heading. After much contemplation and talking over with Earthdragon, about the symbolism of the number three, I decided that it would indeed be the perfect name for my system. After calling it “My System” for so long, I’m so glad that I can call it something else, something with more meaning.

Three has long been a sacred number, and within Neo-Paganism specifically Wicca, it plays quite a significant role, specifically with the Triple Goddess, or Maiden, Mother, Crone. A few years ago, I wanted to work more closely with these archetypes, breaking them down further into 9 aspects of the Goddess, through my art, but I never did. One of the reasons was that shortly after I completely lost interest. This doesn’t usually happen with art projects, but I figure as I was nearing the end of the year, and changing my degree, that it had a lot to do with it.

Transformation, Devotion and Balance are the three main “paths” or “ways” of CTW. The hidden path is Mystery as I say on the main page. This article by Alorer (A devotee of Hekate) , may give some insight as to why CTW, in fact has a fourth path, or way which is “hidden”. Since I’m also trying to construct a Mystery Tradition, it stands that there are things that are indeed hidden, the mysteries, which cannot be written, or explained, only experienced.

Another insight into the hidden, was the section on Nephtys (An Egyptian Funereal deity, Twin of Isis, and Mother of Anpu), in The Circle of Isis.

“She is the dark side of the Moon; not the dark of the Moon, the dark side of the Moon. It is there, it is part of the whole, it is an integral part of the Moon, and we never see it.”

I was struck by how similar it was to an experience I had with Hekate before reading this.

Anubis of course, also has this hidden face, this face of Mystery, of shadow, as He is the psychopomp who guides us to the Duat, and He is that which can only be experienced. I’ve not heard of an experience with Anubis, that has not been profoundly and deeply life-changing for those who have encountered Him, and those who may have, like me, dedicated themselves to Him. Even those who have not dedicated to Him, have been touched by Him, in some way. As son of Nephtys (who was then adopted by Isis- or if you follow other myths son of Isis and Osiris), he holds that same Mysterious power, as Hekate.

The Pyramid. specifically those of Giza, are constructed with such accuracy, and beauty that it is hard to ignore the symbolism attached to its shapes. The Pyramid itself has four “triangles” as its outer surfaces, its base is of course a “square”  so again we have the significance of fours and threes.  The surface, of what is shown, and that which is hidden.

The Crossroads, is explained very well in the article linked above by Alorer.

“The Craft” part of the name of CTW, refers both to Witch (craft), and the fact that
“craft” is a large part of what I do, I of course practice Kitchen Witchery and stitch my magic into sewing crafts as well. Magic is more than just high ritual and ceremony, it also found in every day mundane things, all it takes is for us to *see* the magic that exists everywhere around us and acknowledge it.

What am I thinking? What am I studying? 

Right now I’m struggling with things that have been happening at home, some awful things have happened and they have encroached upon my practices, I’ve also been a bit ill these last few days, and I’m attempting to just relax a bit, while all this stress, and change, goes on. I’ve begun to read Yule by Dorothy Morrison, and I’ve decided on a few things I’ll be incorporating into the daily hubbub, including the making of “Monster” Yule stockings, a spooky Yule tree (if I can find my miniature tree- many things went missing during the last move), Wintery bath salts, gingerbread cookies, fruit cake and yule cake. Of course as each craft and recipe becomes perfected to my tastes they are incorporated into CTW.

This upcoming Yule is going to be hard, after losing two of my dogs, I may not feel like much of a celebration is in order, but I suppose I’m still raw right now. I try not to think about them much as when I do I start crying and screaming. It is the way I deal with grief, it comes in waves, and at night it is worse.

I’m still looking over Cunningham’s Earth, Air, Fire and Water, but as I’m more focused on the religio-spiritual factors of CTW and spiritual development, it is a bit on the backburner for now. This book also makes me realise, how different my views were when I started practicing to now, as Cunningham’s views were very much in line with mine then. Of course natural magic, or magic working with the power of nature is a large part of what I do, I don’t see negatives in the same way that he did.

I’m also still reading through Magika Hiera, but since Samhain I haven’t felt like much heavy reading. As this is more of an academic text than anything else, I do find it very helpful in confirming some viewpoints of the Ancient Greeks. It has been very enlightening to say the least.

All blog content is Copyright © 2012 of Nightshade thepurplebroom.wordpress.com unless otherwise stated

3 thoughts on “Pagan Insights Project: In your own Words…The Craft of The Three Ways and other things

  1. Thanks for the shout out. I love the idea of your spooky yule tree It, it makes me think about The Adams Family. You must post pictures of it.

    If you don’t mind my asking, what happened to your puppies?

    • They were in a dog fight. Unfortunately I tried to keep them, but they were ripped from my arms and there was a huge fight in the family because of it. Unfortunately my opinion and willingness to take of the dogs didn’t matter.

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

