A Glimpse into the Infinite, Insane and Inchoate Musings of a Raving Witch- Pagan Insights Project

On Wednesday night 6th March, I went into ritual with Anpu. As it was a waning Wednesday I decided to work with Anpu in His more Wild form. This is Anpu as Trickster; Anpu as ecstatic Magician; Anpu as Devouring Sarcophagus; Anpu with teeth and claws and a maniacal grin, whispering “Come and dance on the Wild side.”

*

There are many new and exciting things emerging in my path, practices which are becoming solidified, rituals, which although fluid in  form, are becoming part of The Craft of the Three Ways. These practices and experiences are difficult to write into words, as the world of Gods and Dance is not a place of coherent sentences, dictionary definitions and  linear thinking. It is rather, a place where past, present and future are indistinguishable from each other; where truth and fiction become part of the Mystery; where feeling, emotion and devotion take over from script and formality.

This path is also so personal and experiential, that it would be nearly impossible for me to convey it to others without shoving a broadsword through their very psyches and souls, a broadsword, that instead of bringing peace of mind and initiation might leave one swimming in an insane bloody pool of ramblings and a cacophony of WTF’s.

*

Not sure who to credit for this image, if anyone knows please let me know!

Not sure who to credit for this image, if anyone knows please let me know!

*

I step into the smoke-filled room,  and feel the heat from the candle flame and strip down to my naked flesh. I lay upon the blood-red blanket in child’s pose, and allow Marilyn Manson’s straining voice to rip through me, becoming more than just entertainment but the notes and tones that bring me face to face with Anpu’s mad grin of bloody, bone-crushing teeth.

*

I have at so many points in my spiritual path, been on one end of the Traditional vs Eclectic spectrum. If it were easy for me to be one or the other I would remain in those boxes for the rest of my days, but it is not quite so simple. I’ve begun to weave UPG with historical facts, I’ve thrown things away and stripped my practices bare, I’ve added to my practices from other paths and from my own intuition and what I have is an intense spiritual painting, with pentimenti and globs of randomness.

I don’t pretend to be anything other than what I am, a Witch devoted to Anpu, Hekate and a number of other gods and Spirits. I work magic, spells, ritual, divination. I converse with the spirit realms, crying, dancing, laughing, celebrating and feeling in my very core that I belong at the Edges. This is a dance, a painting, a poem of devotion, love and ecstasy; it is unfinished, and in a continual state of creation and destruction.

*

I am staring into the abyss of Anpu’s Maw, and I know that I will continue to dance this dance of terror and pleasure, this dance of beauty and decay, fragments and threads, as a Witch and Priestess, as Weaver and Magician, as Me until and perhaps even after this physical form is rotted into the earth or blown upon the wind.

_____________

Pagan Insights Project

* In Your Own Words – your thoughts and feelings – maybe a full blog post on a topic of your choice related to your path (or Paganism in general) or just a few sentences on where you are right now. What are you studying? What are you thinking? Who are you, and where are you going on your Pagan path? What’s right and what’s wrong in Paganism at the moment?

Post A Pic – post an image related to your path, or one that invokes a feeling/emotion related to your spirituality (or craft… if one is a non-religious Witch), along with a sentence or two describing the image.

* Musical Musings – post a song, chant or poem related to your path, or one that invokes a feeling/emotion related to your spirituality (or craft). Can be in word form, but videos would definitely be awesome as well. On a spiritual level, what is your music of the moment? Is this a song stuck in your head, or one you played before your last ritual?

*Action, Action – post about a ritual, working or other experiential moment related to your path that has occurred recently, or that you are planning to do.

Eureka! – post about something new that you have learned, or discovered recently, that is related to your path or Paganism in general.

2 thoughts on “A Glimpse into the Infinite, Insane and Inchoate Musings of a Raving Witch- Pagan Insights Project

  1. It’s good at times to just strip away all the ideas and practices you might have tried at the suggestions of other or books or blogs and just ask “what am i Really into?”, kinda like the wind stripping the trees of leaves as autumn comes into your country, just leaving the bare trees to contemplate. Your deities of Anpu and Hekate are razor edged gods, and working with them must be demanding. Just make your own path and your own UPG, as long as you maintain the sanity to keep brushing your teeth and combing your hair and going to work etc, lol. I have done a lot you suggested in your projects, though i am in a dry period now waiting for spring to take hold in this northern latitude and to get through some heavy medical issue decisions i have to make now.

  2. I hope your medical issues come right.

    It is definitely always important to remember to not lose yourself in the Spiritual realms, a Witch should always have one foot firmly planted in the real world and one in the realms of spirit, otherwise there is no balance and insanity and chaos can take hold.

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

