Persephone- Drawing

Pen and Pencil on Paper (2013)

Pen and Pencil on Paper (2013)

 

I have not drawn in a while… The urge was sudden, like a red grape bursting in my soul, Persephone wanted this drawing.

This initially began as a Faery, Her name was to be Willow, but I suddenly lost my grips with it, and left it for a month, or two, or three. It was an outline on a page, nothing more, nothing less. But then the season shifted and the pomegranate in my fridge was saying something to me…

It wasn’t just the pomegranate, but the beautiful redness of the inside that was aching for me to listen, to pick up my pencil and carry on; it was the blood and tears of the season, the sadness of disappointment and solace of sharing that disappointment with loved ones; it was the deep red kiss I kept feeling on my lips, and the spiralling emotions that kept sweeping me up and down, around and around. It was pencil and paper, heart and soul, love and blood, sacrifice and loss… monochromatic tears on a page as I began my descent into the Self.

14 thoughts on “Persephone- Drawing

  1. As someone who loves both art and Persephone (she’s my patroness), I think you did a fantastic job on this picture. It’s interesting in your explanation that the image was supposed to be a fairy and morphed into Persephone, especially since she started her life as and has certain aspects of a nature goddess.

    • Thank you very much! I’m glad that I have been able to capture at least some of Persephone’s essence in the drawing. I have put the picture above my altar as I will be working very specifically with Her during the Equinox.

  2. …just stunning …I stumbled across your blog on fb and thought I’d follow the lead where it took me …lovely to meet a fellow Pagan, artist, writer …blessings to you …Penny Reillu

    • Pomegranates signify many things in different cultures and religions. It is often considered a fruit of fertility and abundance and good luck due to its many seeds. It was known in Ancient Greece as the “Fruit of The Dead”.

      It is often used in both funeral and Marriage rites in Greece.

      Kore was the eternal bride, and when She became Queen of the Underworld She married Death. Her eating anything from the underworld would have made Her tied to the underworld forever. Eating the Pomegranate seeds she was tied to the underworld for as many months as the seeds she ate. When She returns to the Earth, Demeter rejoices and the land becomes fertile again, Persephone therefore always holds the seeds of plenty within Her.

      In Christianity it is a symbol of the suffering and resurrection of Jesus.

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

