Personality, Closets and Witches being Witches

the-witchy-blog-award-logo

Thank you very much to Whitney over at Ayslyn’s Corner,  for nominating me with the Witchy Blog Award :). It has been a while since I have seen blogging awards making the rounds, or maybe that is because while I have become more involved in other aspects of my life I have paid little attention to  many of the horrors and pleasures of the pagan blogging community.

It is always wonderful, however, to participate in the blogging awards and to share the love for the many witchy bloggers out there!

The Rules:

  • Dedicate at least part of a post to receiving the award and share the award logo
  • Thank the blogger who passed the award to you
  • Answer the seven questions below
  • Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can)
  • Notify your nominees of their pending award
  • Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner to add your name to the list of bloggers awarded

Seven Questions: (You may customize as long as they are still Wiccan and Pagan related)

  • How did you “discover” Wicca/witchcraft/Neo-Paganism.

I have many blog posts on the how, when and whatnots of my path. If you are, indeed, as curious as the cat that got his nose bitten by a mouse, then feel free to peruse my About me Page and my very first blog post…

  • Do you grow herbs?

“The witches are masters of one single and sovereign science – the use of herbs. Herbs are the most important ingredient in all classical magic and indeed classical (and modern) medicines.”- The Rotting Goddess p123 J. RABINOWITZ

Yes, my garden is potted and small, but constantly burgeoning with life, currently the bees are making their delightful rounds among the lavender. My strawberries are in various states of flowering and fruiting, and will no doubt become of interest to the bird life in the surrounding area. I have many different plants, which may or may not include what are known as “herbs”, including Brugmansia, Purple Heart, Black Dragon, Potatoes, Jasmine, Roses, Euphorbia, Mint, Holly, Azalea, Wild Garlic, Agapanthus, Dandelion, Olive, and Blackberry among others…

Soon, I will be doing more planting as spring can be felt with every coo of the pigeons and every song in the greening stems. I will be planting Borage for the bees, some Catnip for the neighbouring felines and various assortments of seeds I collected over the winter.

It has always been my wish to have a poison garden, maybe one day I will have one, for now I await my weedy Datura Stramonium’s return, along with the flowering of my oleander. Of course my Brugmansia will come to bloom again when She is ready, invigorating the night air with her dazzling, intoxicating scent. My Euphorbia milii or “Christs Thorns”  blooms eternal, with the sharp edges of thorns and the sharply bright orange pink petals.

  • Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your coming out experience

I am neither in, nor out of the proverbial broom closet, some know me as a Witch, some do not. I go about my business and let others go about theirs. It is not about coming out, or staying in. The choice is not quite as black and white as people, including my former self, believe. If you have need to know, you will know, if you do not, you will not. My Nom de Plume and my birth name are not completely and entirely separate from each other, as they both form a part of my identity. I answer to both equally, both in and out of circle. I worship liminal deities, and so my status within the broom closet only seems to be fitting as liminal as well. I have never felt the need to hide my rights to religious and subcultural freedom, but I am also not naive enough to believe that everyone is kind and gracious and willing to accept a Witch in their midst.

Some believe that to come out of the broom closet in all your awesome and insignificant glory is to show how normal and mainstream we are, it offers, to some, protection, as then we have a public face. I personally, however, do not glorify mainstream culture, I have no desire to fit in with what is popular culture of today. I despise the music on the radio, abhor many television programmes and so eschew those media to the best of my ability unless of course something truly grabs my attention. I, of course, understand the importance of and utilize technology, a rather mainstream thing, but I revel far more in the feeding of ducks, geese and various wildish birds than I do in feeding the pockets of major corporations.

I am not protected by the public face of paganism because my practices tend to border on the wild, the taboo, and certainly not the mainstream. I may glide in and out of normalcy freely, but I have never fit in. It struck me once, while at a Braai at the office everyone was engaging in random small talk and chit-chat about the government (and of course random commentary on my vegetarianism) and I was focusing my attentions on a small bird and the Craaw of a roving Crow in the vicinity. That is the nature of myself, even while having drinks with friends it is difficult to discuss the mainstream and the popular because I simply do not care for it. I glide in and out so freely, because as a Witch I have learned how to be bendable like willow.

And of course this very part of my nature has scared the shit out of people I trusted to the point where I was called bipolar, which made me run screaming from being completely open about my nature except to those who share and revel it, my fellow spirits, the gods, and the wild love of those who are my tribe.

Personality and the Self, by their very nature are ephemeral, it is always changing to paraphrase from The New Orleans Voodoo Tarot, and because of this one’s identity to the outer world is also always changing. I have never denied being a witch, because to deny it is to deny what is carved in my bones, but at the same time it is not for me to tell everyone, to educate everyone as to what I do. I practice in secret, in the dead (or wild) of the night. When my practice takes me out into the daylight, I follow my own intuition as to what I do and how I do it.

People have judged me harshly for what they believed to be my satanic religion or my love of the darkness, and even my deepest love for The Jackal himself, these people did not solely belong to mainstream religion and culture, but were also fellow spiritualists and occultists. So when that realization came upon me, that my liminality scared people, I no longer cared for notions of the broom closet, and decided instead to while fully embracing myself and my path, not allow those not worthy of knowing, know it.

  • What tradition do you follow, if any?

I am a Witch, embracing of both what some may consider traditional craft and the much scorned eclectic craft. My system of witchery is explained on this page.

  • Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else?)

Witch… Dirty, beautiful, aberrant, scary, compassionate, dark, ferocious, vile, sweet, soft, gentle Witch.

  • How much of witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?

Witchcraft and every day life are not separate. Being a Witch is part of my bones, blood and the very air I breathe, therefore it is the self-same thing as my every day life.

  • Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you meet him/her and how s/he takes part in your practice (if at all)

I have spirit allies, friends, family and such. I am not sure that I would consider any of them necessarily a familiar in the traditional sense of the word.

Nominees

Blau Stern Schwarz Schlonge

Coven of the Catta

Magickal Connections

The Pagan Cottage

A Wiccan Witch in the City

Magikos Musings

7 thoughts on “Personality, Closets and Witches being Witches

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

