Oat Cookies, a Samhain Recipe

I don’t bake or cook much anymore, sticking to raw or easy to cook meals. You could say I am lazy, but cooking and baking when you live on your own is not quite as fun as cooking for others. Not to mention my small oven is horrendous, and has messed up most of the things I have baked in it since I received it, making me frustrated. gone are the days where I could whip up cupcakes and muffins whenever the mood strikes. 

This year I decided it would be a good thing to bake. Like the Queen of wands, the warm and welcoming feeling of sharing something made with heart and hands is a powerful spell in and of itself. 

This is a made up recipe using ingredients I had on hand, inspired by an oatmeal chocolate chip recipe in my cookies Recipe book (these are soft chewie cookies):

1 Cup Flour
1 Cup Oats (I used quick oats)
1 Tbsp Poppy Seeds
1 Tbsp Crushed Linseeds
1 Tbsp Sunflower Seeds
1/2 cup sugar*
2 Tbsp Dried Cranberries
1/4 Cup Vegetable Oil
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
2 Small Mashed Bananas
1 Tsp cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 180* C (350*F) 

2. Combine flour, oats, sugar, and cinnamon. Add the seeds and dried fruit and mix well. 

3. Combine Bananas, oil and Vanilla Extract. Mix well into the dry ingredients.

4. Drop 1 tablespoon mounds onto cookie sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until they are lightly browned on the edges (I baked in 3 X 8 minute intervals, turning them over each time). Let cool for 5 minutes. 

Cranberry, Seed and Oat cookies

* This is an immensely sweet recipe, due to the Banana and Cranberries. If you do not have as much of a sweet tooth as me, either lessen the sugar or omit it completely. 

I welcome you to leave a comment below...

